Head Lice and Book Marketing


“Your Child Has Lice!” 

Actually, the email’s subject line read, “There’s been a case of head lice at school.”  The email, from my child’s school, went on to explain that precautions were being taken to deal with the outbreak and further eliminate the spread to other children.  The email concluded with a quick education on how to prevent the spread of head lice.  Point is, I was glued to the email and read every line.

I receive dozens of emails from my kids’ schools every month.  I rarely read a single one.  I’d like to read them, I’d like to know what’s going on at their schools, but who has time?  I’m not the only one, I’ve heard the same from other overworked, overwhelmed parents.  Frankly, unless it’s serious, yanks me by the collar, slaps me across the face, dumps ice-cold water over my head, I’m probably not going to notice or take the time to read.

Unless, of course, I see something as strong and forceful as “Your Child Has Lice!”

What’s the lesson?  Whatever method you choose to use to market your book, make sure it gets noticed.  Make sure your book has the “Your Child Has Lice!” effect.  It’s the only way you’ll cut through the noise and make an impact.  Your job is to identify what your “Lice” is.  Ooh gross!

Want to learn more?  I’d love to hear what you’ve done to market your book.

Dog Ear Publishing is a full service publishing company offering, self publishing, custom cover and interior design, book marketing and PR, print of demand, distribution to bookstores and order fulfillment.

Dog Ear Publishing offers E-books, audio books and book trailers. 

Learn more about self publishing by visiting Dog Ear Publishing’s official blog.

contact Miles Nelson to learn more.  866-823-9613 or milesn@dogearpublishing.net

Leave a Reply

